Skip to content

Queen's Grove

Accueil Queen’s Grove

PRESENTATION

This grove replaced the famous Labyrinth Grove, laid out in 1665-1666 and then embellished, in 1677, with a set of thirty-nine lead fountains painted in the natural style and featuring animals from Aesop’s fables. This marvel was destroyed when the gardens were replanted in 1775-1776, and replaced by the current grove, first known as the Vénus Grove and then the Queen’s Grove. The new layout, simple but elegant, was designed to showcase a species recently introduced to France: the tulip tree. The current sculpted decoration was installed at the end of the 19th century.

Restored thanks to the patronage of numerous French and foreign companies, foundations and institutions, as well as a hundred private individuals, the Queen’s Grove now opens its doors during The Musical Fountains and Musical Gardens Show.

 

Newsletter

Don’t miss any event

Subscribe Subscribe