Mozart : Requiem

2 and 3 april 2016
Details
Approximate duration: 
1h45 intermission included

Unfinished masterpiece, musical testament, timeless sacred composition going beyond the boundaries of liturgy, Mozart’s Requiem is always described in superlatives.

 

Mozart is supposed to have composed it as he sensed his own death. In fact, Count Walsegg commissioned it for his wife’s funeral. There could be no better choice than Mozart; he had just been appointed vice-master of chapel at St Stefan’s cathedral and was working on renewing the form of masses in music. As the most gifted opera composer in Vienna, he was the guarantee of a certain aura, even if the Count claimed to be the author of other commissions before revealing their origin. The D minor key is very significant: Mozart only used it in works about redemption through suffering, in Don Giovanni for example. At his death on 5 December 1791, the composer had entirely finished the Requiem and the Kyrie, and defined most of the five following numbers, from Dies Irae to Confutatis. His student Franz-Xaver Sussmayr had the daunting task of completing this music without betraying it. The work has since given birth to thousands of theories, numerous interpretations of the unfinished pages but foremost to magnificent interpretations: it fascinates the listener and the interpreter, and finally imposes itself almost entirely as Mozart left it, as if these last notes, written by a dying composer, were all the more precious…

François-Joseph Gossec (1734-1829) was born in Belgium,  which he left to pursue a career at the French Court; he was a composer at the junction between the old and the new style: he knew Rameau well, was Mozart's friend, created the "symphonie française", directed the Concert Spirituel, then the Opera and finally the Conservatoire. He joined the ranks of the Revolution and became its official musician, before being honoured by Napoleon.

When Mozart came to Paris, his master was Gossec. Mozart knew his truly splendid Grande Messe des Morts (Grand Mass for the Dead); composed around 1760, it was published in 1780 and adopted by the Revolution, who played it for those who died at Bastille! Its "stunning" parts made a lasting impression. There is no doubt that Mozart took inspiration from it; echoes from it can be also heard later in Cherubini and mostly in Berlioz.

 

Extract from 4ème Cantique sur le bonheur des Justes of Lalande - Les Nouveaux Caractères - Sébastien d'Hérin

 

♦ PROGRAMME

François-Joseph Gossec (1734-1829)
Grande Messe des Morts (extracts)
(Requiem, Exaudi, Dies Irae, Tuba mirum, Mors stupebit)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Requiem

Onglets

Casting

Caroline Mutel Soprano

Karine Deshayes Mezzo-soprano

Mathias Vidal Tenor

Nicolas Courjal Bass

 

Chœur et Orchestre Les Nouveaux Caractères

Sebastien d’Hérin, conductor

Mozart : Requiem

2 et 3 avril 2016
Détails
Durée approximative: 
1h45 entracte inclus

Chef-d’œuvre inachevé, testament musical, composition sacrée intemporelle et dépassant le cadre liturgique, le Requiem de Mozart accumule les superlatifs. 

 

Mozart l’aurait même composé en pressentant sa propre mort. Il s’agissait en fait d’une commande du Comte Walsegg pour les funérailles de son épouse. Le commanditaire ne pouvait faire un meilleur choix en la personne de Mozart, alors tout récemment nommé vice-maître de chapelle à la Cathédrale Saint-Etienne, et qui poursuivait son travail sur la forme musicale de la messe, dans un souci de renouvellement. Compositeur d’opéra surdoué et de premier plan à Vienne, il était aussi le gage d’une certaine “aura”, même si le Comte s’attribuait la paternité de ses autres commandes avant de révéler l’originale. La tonalité de ré mineur est très significative : Mozart ne l’a employée que dans des œuvres où il est question de souffrance rédemptrice, par exemple, dans Don Giovanni. À sa mort, le 5 décembre 1791, le compositeur avait achevé entièrement le Requiem et le Kyrie, et défini pour une bonne part le contenu des cinq numéros suivants, du Dies Irae au Confutatis. C’est à son élève Franz-Xaver Sussmayr qu’incombera la lourde tâche de compléter cette musique sans la trahir. L’œuvre a depuis suscité mille hypothèses, de nombreuses versions des pages inachevées, de splendides interprétations surtout : elle magnétise l’auditeur comme l’interprète, et s’impose finalement presque intégralement dans la forme qu’a laissée Mozart, comme si ces dernières notes, la plume encore levée d’un compositeur mourant, n’en étaient que plus précieuses…

Francois Joseph Gossec (1734-1829), né en Belgique puis venu faire carrière à la Cour de France, est un compositeur à la charnière de l'ancien et du nouveau : il connut bien Rameau, fut l'ami de Mozart, créa la "symphonie française", dirigea le Concert Spirituel, puis l'Opéra, enfin le Conservatoire. Rejoignant les rangs de la Révolution, il en devint le musicien officiel, avant d'être honoré par Napoléon.

Quand Mozart vint à Paris, son maitre fut Gossec. Sa Grande Messe des Morts, véritablement splendide, fut bien connue de Mozart : composée vers 1760, elle fut publiée en 1780, puis adoptée par la révolution qui la joua pour les Morts de la Bastille ! Ses parties "stupéfiantes" marquèrent les esprits pour longtemps : nul doute que Mozart s'en inspira, comme plus tard on en entend l'echo chez Cherubini et surtout Berlioz.

 

Extrait du 4ème Cantique sur le bonheur des Justes de Lalande - Les Nouveaux Caractères - Sébastien d'Hérin

 

♦ PROGRAMME

François-Joseph Gossec (1734-1829)
Grande Messe des Morts (extraits)
(Requiem, Exaudi, Dies Irae, Tuba mirum, Mors stupebit)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Requiem

Onglets

Distribution

Caroline Mutel Soprano

Karine Deshayes Mezzo-soprano

Mathias Vidal Ténor

Nicolas Courjal Basse

 

Chœur et Orchestre Les Nouveaux Caractères

Sebastien d’Hérin, direction