Bach: Motets

Sunday 25 March 2018 – 5.30pm
Approximate duration: 
1h40 with intermission

Bach’s Motets are exceptions in his production. They were composed in Leipzig between 1727 and 1730 for exceptional ceremonies: funeral services for prominent figures. 


Each motet is a virtuoso composition for a double choir accompanied by musical instruments, with no soloist. Because of their complex composition and their magnificence, they remained on the repertoire of Saint Thomas of Leipzig, where they enthralled Mozart when he heard them in 1789. Their success has never waned since, and the Arts Florissants offers a deep and virtuoso interpretation of these masterpieces. 



Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Komm, Jesu, komm Motet BWV 229
Ich lasse dich nicht Motet BWV 159

Johann Christoph Bach (1642-1703)
Fürchte dich nicht

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Jesu meine Freude, Motet BWV 227

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden Motet BWV 230

Johann Kuhnau (1660-1722)
Tristis est anima mea

Johann Ludwig Bach (1677-1731)
Das ist meine Freude

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied Motet BWV 225



Les Arts Florissants

Paul Agnew Conductor