Sacrati: La Finta Pazza

Sa. 16 and Su. 17 march 2019
DetailsBook
Approximate duration: 
2h30 with intermission

| OPERA |

NEW PRODUCTION 

The story of the incredible success of La Finta Pazza in Venice in 1641 is often attributed to the presence of the diva Anna Renzi and to Torelli’s incredible stage machinery. However, a show with an excellent singer and an impressive machinery is nothing without remarkable music. As soon as I discovered this score, which has almost never been performed recently, I immediately understood the surprising quality of this music and why it had such an impact on young King Louis XIV. It offers something new in the history of music, just as the opera was becoming accessible to the public, with an extremely sophisticated relation between music and text. The quality of the music is the reason why La Finta Pazza was the first opera performed at the French court in 1645, at a time when the genre was completely unknown.

 

When comparing Sacrati’s music to Monteverdi’s, it appears much more ornate, with more coloratura, more explicit virtuosity, which Monteverdi tried to avoid when this was not required by the text; this takes Sacrati closer to later opera composers. He is in fact closer to a composer like Cavalli, although his very new harmonies are very new –  4/2, ninth/seventh and composed chords –  and found neither in Monteverdi or Cavalli. We used to think that this type of chords only came later and now know they already existed in Sacrati’s music. In La Finta Pazza, I rediscovered the type of harmony and intervals found in “Pur ti Miro” of The Coronation of Poppea, which according to me clearly shows Sacrati’s intervention in the score. As for the rest, we see here a musician inventing a style, constructing his range of emotions, his music is still a work in progress and his style not fully individual. However, the natural aspect of his music makes him a great composer who deserves to be listed alongside Cavalli and Monteverdi. As the only available score of La Finta Pazza comes from a revival in Piacenza in 1664, one could fear there would be some musical additions by another hand. This is not the case, the style of composition is consistent throughout, even in the instrumental parts.

The basso continuo – the continuo – plays a central role in this music of course. As soon as it was invented, around 1600, basso continuo became the pulse that supports the singers’ breath, the development of colours, a sort of second, emotional, decor. A wealth of instruments, luths, archlutes, guitars, harps, harpsichords, organ, viola da gamba, lyres was needed to enhance the text and make its emotions accessible to the public through the colours of the continuo. My approach of La Finta Pazza will not be any different from my approach of Monteverdi and Cavalli’s operas: the text always dictates how and who should accompany it.

La Finta Pazza has played a central role in the exportation of Italian opera, particularly to France, where it has remained a constant presence since: after Sacrati came Rossi, Cavalli, Lully, then Piccini, Rossini, Donizetti etc. in the 18th and 19th century. This long history was born with the Finta Pazza, which inspired the passion for opera to France. After four centuries, it seemed to me that it should be recreated in France.

-----------------------

Leonardo García Alarcón


Production: Opéra de Dijon
Coproduction: Opéra Royal / Château de Versailles Spectacles, Festival de Cracovie

 

ll Giasone of Francesco Cavalli - Conducted by Leonardo García Alarcón
 

♦ PROGRAMME

Francesco Sacrati (1605-1650)

La Finta Pazza

Onglets

Casting

Mariana Flores Deidamia

Filipo Mineccia Achille

Gabriel Jublin Ulisse

Valerio Contaldo Diomede

Alejandro Meerapfel Licomede

Norma Nahoun Minerva | La Fama

Kacper Szelążek Eunuc

Marcel Beekman Nodrice

Salvo Vitale Capitano

Julie Roset Aurora | Giunone

Alexander Miminoshvili Vulcano | Giove

Fiona McGown Tetide | Vittoria

Aurelie Marjot Donzella 1

Yang Xiu Donzella 2

Sarah Hauss Donzella 3

Ruben Ruf Pirro
 

Cappella Mediterranea

Leonardo García Alarcón Conductor
 

Jean-Yves Ruf Director

Anaïs de Courson Assistant Director

Laure Pichat Stage sets

Claudia Jenatsch Costumes

Christian Dubet Lights

Cécile Kretschmar Wigs

Sacrati : La Finta Pazza

Sam. 16 et dim. 17 mars 2019
DétailsRéserver
Spectacle surtitré en français et en anglais
Durée approximative: 
2h30 entracte inclus

| OPÉRA MIS EN SCENE |

NOUVELLE PRODUCTION

On rapporte souvent le succès incroyable de La Finta Pazza à Venise en 1641 à la présence de la diva Anna Renzi et à la machinerie étonnante de Torelli. Mais un spectacle avec un très bon chanteur et une machinerie impressionnante ne peut absolument rien donner si la musique n’est pas extraordinaire. Dès que j’ai pris connaissance de cette partition, qui n’a presque jamais été jouée de nos jours, j’ai immédiatement compris que cette musique avait une qualité surprenante, et pourquoi elle avait produit, même en France, un effet aussi marquant sur le jeune Louis XIV. C’est une pièce qui propose quelque chose de nouveau dans l’histoire de la musique, à un moment où l’opéra devient public, avec un rapport entre texte et musique extrêmement abouti. C’est cette qualité, la qualité de cette musique qui explique que La Finta Pazza fut le premier opéra donné à la Cour de France en 1645, ce pays qui ne connaissait pas du tout l’opéra.


Si, pour prendre un point de repère, on compare la musique de Sacrati à celle de Monteverdi, on s’aperçoit qu’elle est déjà beaucoup plus ornée, avec plus de colorature, une virtuosité plus explicite, ce que Monteverdi essayait d’éviter lorsque le texte ne le proposait pas, qui l’emmène vers l’opéra plus tardif. Sacrati est en réalité plus proche d’un compositeur comme Cavalli, même si dans l’harmonie, il propose des choses très nouvelles, comme des 4/2, des neuvièmes/septièmes, des accords composés, qui ne se retrouvent ni chez Monteverdi ni chez Cavalli. On pensait d’ailleurs que ce type d’accords arrivait plus tard, et l’on s’aperçoit qu’il est déjà présent chez Sacrati. Dans La Finta Pazza, je redécouvre ce type d’harmonies et d’intervalles qu’on peut entendre dans le « Pur ti miro » du Couronnement de Poppée, qui pour moi est clairement une intervention de Sacrati dans la partition. Pour le reste, il s’agit vraiment d’un compositeur qui est en train d’inventer un style, de se construire un laboratoire des émotions, sa musique est donc encore en devenir, il n’a pas un style qui lui soit absolument propre. Cependant, il y a dans sa musique un naturel qui en fait un grand compositeur qui mérite d’être nommé à côté de Cavalli ou Monteverdi. La seule partition disponible de La Finta Pazza provenant d’une reprise à Plaisance en 1644, on pouvait craindre des ajouts musicaux d’une main étrangère. Il n’en est rien. Il y a une homogénéité de style absolue, même concernant les parties instrumentales.


La basse continue, le continuo, joue bien sûr un rôle prédominant dans cette musique. Dès son invention, autour de 1600, la basse continue est devenue la pulsation qui supporte la respiration des chanteurs, l’élaboration des couleurs, une sorte de deuxième décor, un décor émotionnel. On doit donc avoir une très grande richesse d’instruments, des luths, archiluths, des guitares, des harpes, des clavecins, de l’orgue, des violes de gambe, des lyres : ce sont tous ces instruments qui pourront donner au texte le relief indispensable pour que le public puisse comprendre et ressentir l’émotion grâce à la couleur de la basse continue. Mon approche sur La Finta Pazza ne sera pas différente de celle que j’ai eue pour les opéras de Monteverdi et de Cavalli : c’est toujours le texte qui dicte comment et qui doit l’accompagner.
La Finta Pazza a joué un rôle fondamental dans l’exportation de l’opéra italien, en particulier en France, où la présence italienne ne cessera véritablement jamais : après Sacrati, il y aura Rossi, Cavalli, Lully, jusqu’aux Piccini, Rossini, Donizetti etc. des XVIIIe et XIXe siècles. Toute cette histoire prend naissance avec cette Finta Pazza, c’est elle qui a inoculé le virus « opéra » à l’Hexagone. Il m’apparaissait donc primordial que cette recréation, après presque quatre siècles, ait lieu en France.       

-----------------------

Leonardo García Alarcón

 

Production : Opéra de Dijon
Coproduction : Opéra Royal / Château de Versailles Spectacles, Festival de Cracovie

 

ll Giasone de Francesco Cavalli - Direction Leonardo García Alarcón


♦ PROGRAMME

Francesco Sacrati (1605-1650)

La Finta Pazza

Opéra en un prologue et trois actes sur un livret de Giulio Strozzi, créé à Venise en 1641.


Picto_abonnement opéras mis en scène

Onglets

Distribution

Mariana Flores Deidamia

Filipo Mineccia Achille

Gabriel Jublin Ulisse

Valerio Contaldo Diomede

Alejandro Meerapfel Licomede

Kacper Szelążek Eunuc

Marcel Beekman Nodrice

Salvo Vitale Capitano

Julie Roset Aurora | Giunone

Alexander Miminoshvili Vulcano | Giove

Fiona McGown Tetide | Vittoria

Aurelie Marjot Donzella 1

Yang Xiu Donzella 2

Sarah Hauss Donzella 3

Ruben Ruf Pirro
 

Cappella Mediterranea

Leonardo García Alarcón Direction
 

Jean-Yves Ruf Mise en scène

Anaïs de Courson Assistante à la mise en scène

Laure Pichat Décors

Claudia Jenatsch Costumes

Christian Dubet Lumières

Cécile Kretschmar Perruques