Verdi: Requiem

Sunday 27 May 2018 - 16h
DetailsBook
Approximate duration: 
1h20 without intermission

| CONCERT |

Verdi’s Requiem has reached posterity even though it was not intended as sacred music for liturgy but written by the composer as a vast concert piece. 

 

At the height of his career in opera, Verdi had nothing more to prove but his friend Manzoni’s funeral gave him the idea of a large composition, in line with Berlioz’s famous Requiem.

This is indeed a “sacred operatic drama”, where Nabucco’s chorales meet Othello’s soloists and Aida’s trumpets, the brilliance of music allied to the depth of feelings. The Requiem was created in the San Carlo church in Milan for the anniversary of Manzoni’s death in 1874 and Verdi conducted it for three evening performances at the Scala and the following week at the Opéra Comique in Paris, to great success then as today.

For this powerful work, Enrique Mazzola has gathered four talented soloists, his full orchestra and the Orchestre de Paris choir, to perform Verdi’s Requiem in a venue appropriate to the scope of the composition: the monumental gallery of the Orangerie, Palace of Versailles's stone cathedral

 

Extract from Requiem de Giuseppe Verdi, conducted by Enrique Mazzola
 

PROGRAMME

Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
Requiem


Logo de l'ADOR - Les Amis de l'Opéra Royal
Légende: 
The 2018 Gala of the Friends of the Royal Opera will be held during the Verdi’s Requiem to benefit the musical season of the Royal Opera House. A dazzling evening at Versailles with a concert at the Orangery followed by a Champagne Reception in the gardens and a Cocktail dinner in the Château.

Onglets

Casting

Karine Babajanyan Soprano

Sanja Radisic Mezzo-soprano

Alexeï Tatarintsev Ténor

Nikolay Didenko Bass

 

Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris (Choirmaster Lionel Sow)

 

Orchestre national d'Ile-de-France

Enrique Mazzola Conductor

Verdi : Requiem

27 mai 2018
DétailsRéserver
Durée approximative: 
1h20 sans entracte

Le Requiem de Verdi est passé à la postérité, alors qu'il n'était pas destiné à devenir une œuvre sacrée "liturgique", mais que le compositeur l'a écrite comme une grande pièce de concert.

 

Au sommet de sa carrière lyrique, Verdi n'a plus rien à prouver mais les funérailles de son ami Manzoni lui donnent l'inspiration d'écrire une pièce colossale, dans la lignée du Requiem de Berlioz devenu si célèbre.
Il s'agit donc bien d'un "drame sacré lyrique", où les chœurs de Nabucco croisent les solistes d'Othello et les trompettes d'Aida, dans l'éclat de la musique et la profondeur des sentiments. Dès la création du Requiem à l'Eglise San Carlo de Milan pour l'anniversaire de la mort de Manzoni, en 1874, Verdi le dirigea trois soirs à la Scala et dès la semaine suivante à l'Opéra Comique à Paris, avec un triomphe qui ne s'est jamais démenti.

Pour une telle œuvre Enrique Mazzola a réuni un quatuor de solistes affûtés, son orchestre en grand effectif et le chœur de l'Orchestre de Paris, pour une interprétation dans un lieu à la dimension de l'œuvre : la Galerie monumentale de l'Orangerie, véritable cathédrale de pierre du Château de Versailles.

 

Extrait du Requiem de Giuseppe Verdi, dirigé par Enrique Mazzola
 

PROGRAMME

Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
Requiem

Onglets

Distribution

Karine Babajanyan Soprano

Sanja Radisic Mezzo-soprano

Alexei Tatarintsev Ténor

Nikolay Didenko Basse

 

Chœur de l’Orchestre de Paris (Chef de chœur Lionel Sow )

 

Orchestre national d'Ile-de-France

Enrique Mazzola Direction