Rossini: L’Italienne à Alger

29 June 2018 – 8pm
DetailsBook
Approximate duration: 
2h50 with intermission

L'Italienne à Alger, Rossini’s first grand opera buffa, met with exceptional success when it was created in Venice in 1813, and this success has never waned since. Napoleon, King of Italy, back from the terrible retreat of Russia, was then master of Venice: a good reason to create an effervescent comedy! 

 

The orientalist plot depicts Mustafa, Bey of Algiers, trying to get rid of his favorite and eager for a new bride: he will be offered an Italian woman washed ashore on the Algerian coast!  But the slaves join up to trick Mustafa and involve him in a (musical) imbroglio, to the tune of an explosive score, full of twists and turns!


Jean-Christophe Spinosi, who conducted Elisabetta Regina d'Inghilterra also by Rossini last season, knows the Italienne like the back of his hand, and gives a colorful and dynamic version taking the public on a Rossini whirlwind, thanks to a cast of belcanto soloists who pop open champagne in this irresistible farce!

 

PROGRAMME

Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
L’Italienne à Alger


Dramma Giocoso in 2 acts on a libretto by Angelo Angilli.
Created on 22 May 1813 in Venice.

Onglets

Casting

Philippe Talbot Lindoro

Riccardo Novaro Mustafa

Luigi De Donato Taddeo

Emilie Rose Bry Elvira

José Coca Loza Haly

Rosa Bove Zulma

Cast to be communicated at a later date.


Ensemble Matheus

Jean-Christophe Spinosi Director

Rossini : L’Italienne à Alger

Vendredi 29 juin 2018 - 20h
DétailsRéserver
Concert surtitré en français
Durée approximative: 
3h15 entracte inclus

| OPÉRA EN VERSION DE CONCERT |

L'Italienne à Alger, premier grand opera buffa de Rossini, remporta à sa création à Venise, en 1813, un succès exceptionnel, qui ne s'est pas démenti depuis. Venise était alors sous la coupe de Napoléon, roi d'Italie, de retour de la terrible retraite de Russie : raison de plus pour que Rossini crée une comédie effervescente !

 

L'intrigue orientaliste dépeint Mustafa, le Bey d'Alger, cherchant à se débarrasser de sa favorite et avide d'une nouvelle épouse : on va lui proposer une italienne échouée sur la côte algéroise ! Mais des couples se forment entre esclaves pour rouler Mustafa dans la farine, l'emmêlant dans un imbroglio (musical) au gré d'une partition explosive et pleine de rebondissements !

Jean-Christophe Spinosi, qui nous a livré une splendide Elisabetta Regina d'Inghilterra du même Rossini la saison passée, sait son Italienne sur le bout des doigts, et en donne une version  dont les couleurs et la dynamique emportent le public dans une tornade rossinienne, grâce à une distribution de solistes belcantistes qui sabrent le champagne dans cette farce irrésistible. 


PROGRAMME

Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868)
L’Italienne à Alger

Dramma Giocoso en 2 actes sur un livret d’Angelo Angilli.
Créé le 22 mai 1813 à Venise.

Onglets

Distribution

Aytaj Shikhalizade Isabella

Philippe Talbot Lindoro

Luigi De Donato Mustafa

Christian Senn Taddeo

Emilie Rose Bry Elvira

José Coca Loza Haly

Rosa Bove Zulma

 

Choeur de chambre Mélisme(s)

Gildas Pungier Chef de choeur

Ensemble Matheus

Jean-Christophe Spinosi Direction