Joyce DiDonato: In War and Peace

22 June 2018
Details

In the spring of 2016, Joyce DiDonato gave this new programme dedicated to songs of love and fury by Italian baroque masters. Two years later, after having recorded it and sung it many times at concerts, she returns to the Royal Opera with an accomplished and personified version, showcased by lights and costumes.

 

War and peace still wage the same perpetual conflict. Dread, fury, vengeance, despair are powerful elements of baroque operas, but arias expressing love, peace, and appeasement are equally wonderful! 

“Is it possible to find lasting and sincere peace in this deafening chaos?”. Joyce DiDonato’s plea finds a response in the beauties of music. We will be carried away by this very personal recital, with all its emotion and virtuosity and the exceptional charisma of an exceptional diva engaged in the challenges of our world. 

Tour organized by Askonas Holt.

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Joyce DiDonato: In War and Peace
Harmony through Music

Songs of war and love

Arias by Handel, Purcell, Jomelli

 

 

Onglets

Casting

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-soprano

 

Il Pomo d’Oro

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor and harpsichord

 

Manuel Palazzo Choreographer and dancer

Ralf Pleger Mise en espace

Henning Blum Lights

Yousef Iskandar Video

Vivienne Westwood Dresses

M.A.C. Make up

Joyce DiDonato : In War and Peace

22 juin 2018
Détails

Au printemps 2016, Joyce DiDonato donnait à Versailles le premier concert de ce nouveau programme consacré aux airs furieux et amoureux des maîtres du baroque italien. Deux ans plus tard, après l'avoir enregistré et chanté de nombreuses fois en concerts, elle revient à l'Opéra Royal en donner une version incarnée, mise en lumière et costumes, parfaitement aboutie. 

 

Entre temps la guerre et la paix n'ont pas fini leur perpétuel conflit. Effroi, fureur, vengeance, désespoir sont de puissants ressorts des opéras baroques, mais les airs d'amour, de sérénité, d'apaisement sont aussi des merveilles !
"Est-il possible de trouver une paix sincère et durable au milieu de ce chaos assourdissant ?" La question de Joyce DiDonato est un plaidoyer dont la musique se charge d'apporter les preuves, par une beauté exceptionnelle. Ce récital si personnel, empli d'émotion et de virtuosité, nous emporte par sa noblesse, sa lumière éclatante, et le charisme hors du commun de cette diva engagée dans les défis de notre monde.

Tournée organisée par Askonas Holt.



"Lascia ch'io pianga" de Haendel - Joyce DiDonato, In War & Peace
 

♦ PROGRAMME

Joyce DiDonato : In War and Peace
Harmony through Music
Chants de guerre et d'amour

Airs de Haendel, Purcell, Jommelli

Onglets

Distribution

Joyce DiDonato Mezzo-soprano et productrice

 

Il Pomo d’Oro

Maxim Emelyanychev Direction et clavecin

 

Manuel Palazzo Chorégraphe et danseur

Ralf Pleger Mise en espace

Henning Blum Lumières

Yousef Iskandar Vidéo

Vivienne Westwood Robes

M.A.C. Maquillage