Cavalli: Missa Concertata

10 February 2018 – 7pm
DetailsBook
Approximate duration: 
1h10 without intermission

In 1659, Mazarin signed the Treaty of Paris confirming the future Peace of the Pyrénées and consequently Louis XIV's marriage to the Spanish Infanta in 1660. For the celebration of this wedding, Mazarin commissioned an opera from the greatest composer of the time, Cavalli: it was to be Ercole Amante. However when Cavalli arrived in Paris, the theatre wasn't finished and he preferred to give Xerxes composed in 1654.

 

It is also for this celebration that the French Ambassador to Venice asked Cavalli to compose a magnificent Missa Concertata; its performance in January 1660 gathered: “the best voices of Chapel San Marco and the most famous musicians who have come here to sing the operas for this Carnival and fifteen instruments: violas, violins, cornets and some trumpets added to the music on order from Mr. Cavalli, the first man in Italy in this art." Placed on specially built stands, the singers and musicians were distributed in space as was traditional in Venice at the time.

After the magnificent rendering of the Venetian Mass for the birth of Louis XIV by Rovetta, Benjamin Chenier is now taking on another Venetian masterpiece celebrating France and Louis XIV, this time by Cavalli, Rovetta's successor in San Marco, with brilliant soloists and musicians distributed in space in the Royal Chapel to revive the magnificent impression of the 1660 performance.  

This programme will be recorded in the Alpha/Versailles collection.

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Francesco Cavalli (1602 - 1676)
Missa Concertata

Grand Venetian Mass for Louis XIV’s Franco-Spanish Peace 


Picto abonnement


Musical Gems subscription

 

Picto 15 minutes avec

 "15 MINUTES WITH"

On Saturday 10 February at 6.30pm, share “15 minutes with” the conductor Benjamin Chénier, about Missa Concertata in the Grand Foyer of the Royal Opera.

-Please show your ticket for the evening performance, subject to availability-

Onglets

Casting

Stéphanie Révidat, Anne Magouët Sopranos

Pascal Bertin, Paulin Bundgen Alto

Martial Pauliat, Vincent Bouchot Tenors

Renaud Delaigue, Renaud Brès Bass

 

Galilei Consort

Benjamin Chénier Conductor

Cavalli : Missa Concertata

10 février 2018 – 19h
DétailsRéserver
Durée approximative: 
1h10 sans entracte

En 1659, Mazarin parvient à signer le Traité de Paris qui entérine la future Paix des Pyrénées, et donc le mariage de Louis XIV avec l'Infante d'Espagne en 1660. Pour les fêtes de célébration de ce mariage, Mazarin commande un opéra à Cavalli, le plus grand compositeur de son temps : ce doit être Ercole Amante. Mais à l'arrivée de Cavalli à Paris, la salle n'est pas terminée et il préfère redonner Xerxès, composé en 1654.

 

C'est dans ce contexte de célébration que l'ambassadeur de France à Venise obtient également de Cavalli la composition d'une somptueuse Messa Concertata, dont la représentation en janvier 1660 pût réunir dans la Basilique San Giovanni et Paolo "Les meilleures voix de La Chapelle de Saint Marc, et celles des plus célèbres musiciens qui sont venus icy pour chanter dans les opéras ce Carnaval, et de quinze instruments violes, violons, cornets et certaines trompettes ajoutées à la musique, de l'ordre de M. Cavalli, le premier homme d'Italie dans son art." Disposés sur des tribunes édifiées spécifiquement, les chanteurs et musiciens spatialisèrent la Grande Messe de Cavalli comme c'était de coutume à Venise.


Après la magnifique restitution de la Messe Vénitienne pour la Naissance de Louis XIV, de Rovetta, Benjamin Chénier s'attaque à un autre chef d'œuvre vénitien célébrant la France et Louis XIV, par la plume du successeur de Rovetta à San Marco : Cavalli, avec de brillants solistes et un parti-pris de spatialisation dans La Chapelle Royale pour retrouver le faste sonore de 1660.

L'enregistrement de ce concert paraîtra dans la collection Alpha/Versailles. 



Giovanni Rovetta, "Messe pour la naissance de Louis XIV" - Galilei Consort, Benjamin Chénier 


♦ PROGRAMME

Francesco Cavalli (1602 - 1676)
Missa Concertata

Grande Messe Vénitienne pour la Paix Franco-Espagnole de Louis XIV

 

Picto abonnement

 
Abonnement Pépites musicales

 

Picto 15 minutes avec

 "15 MINUTES AVEC"

Samedi 10 février, partagez "15 minutes avec" Benjamin Chénier pour échanger autour de Missa Concertata à 18h30 au Grand Foyer de l'Opéra Royal. 
-Sur présentation de votre billet pour le soir-même et dans la limite des places disponibles-

 

Logo de l'ADOR - Les Amis de l'Opéra Royal

 
Cette production est accueillie avec le soutien exceptionnel de l'ADOR - Les Amis de l'Opéra Royal

 

Onglets

Distribution

Stéphanie Révidat, Anne Magouët Sopranos

Pascal Bertin, Paulin Bundgen Alto

Martial Pauliat, Vincent Bouchot Ténors

Renaud Delaigue, Renaud Brès Basse

 

Galilei Consort

Benjamin Chénier Direction