Monteverdi : Orfeo

8 March 2017- 8pm
Details
With surtitles in english & french
Approximate duration: 
2h30 intermission including

There is no need to introduce Orfeo, one of the major works in the opera world, performed on stages all over the world.

 

Les Arts Florissants have already given it several times (notably in Madrid, as part of a Monteverdi trilogy by Pizzi). However 2017 will see the very first interpretation of this work under the direction of Paul Agnew, the joint musical director and associate conductor of the Ensemble, after performing Monteverdi’s complete madrigals over four years of concerts all around Europe. Paul Agnew heads the creation of this new production. At his side, Cyril Auvity sings Orfeo, with a number of singers, mostly coming from the Jardin des Voix and the artistic team from the complete Monteverdi madrigals with Alain Blanchot designing the costumes – his magnificent work for 11 Sant’Alessio or Rameau, maître à danser was greatly acclaimed by the press.

“This is an intimate production of Orfeo.  The relatively simple sets place the work back in its antique context and put the music and through the music the text, at the heart of the performance and of the spectator’s experience. It is through simplicity that the essential principle in all Monteverdi’s work – that text guides harmony – can be accomplished.” 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Paul Agnew

Extract from Madrigals of Monteverdi by Paul Agnew and Les Arts Florissants

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Orfeo

Opera in 5 acts with a prologue. Libretto by Alessandro Striggio
First performed at the Mantua Palazzo Ducale on 24th February 1607

 

⇒ The English subtitles of this production are sponsored by CAP MONDE. Every year over 30 000 children and teenagers are travelling with Cap Monde around the world.

 

Coproduction: Les Arts Florissants, Le Théâtre de Caen, Philharmonie de Paris

 

Onglets

Casting

Cyril Auvity Orfeo

Hannah Morrison Euridice

Miriam Allan Proserpine

Lea Desandre L'Espérance

Carlo Vistoli Esprit

Sean Clayton Echo / Berger / Esprit

Zachary Wilder Esprit / Berger

Antonio Abete Pluton

Cyril Constanzo Charon / Esprit

 

Orchestre des Arts Florissants

Paul Agnew Conductor and staging

 

Alain Blanchot Costumes

Christophe Naillet Sets and lights

Monteverdi : Orfeo

8 mars 2017- 20h
Détails
Spectacle surtitré en français et en anglais
Durée approximative: 
2h30 entracte inclus

Nouvelle production

Inutile de le présenter, l'Orfeo est aujourd'hui l'un des grands incontournables du genre opératique, programmé sur toutes les scènes du monde.

 

Rien d'étonnant à ce que Les Arts Florissants l'aient déjà abordé à plusieurs reprises (à Madrid notamment, dans le cadre d'une trilogie Monteverdi montée par Pizzi). Mais 2017 marquera la toute première interprétation de l'œuvre sous la direction de Paul Agnew, directeur musical adjoint et chef associé de l'ensemble, alors que son intégrale des madrigaux du même Monteverdi vient tout juste de s'achever, après quatre années de concerts à travers l'Europe. Paul Agnew assure la création de cette nouvelle production. À ses côtés, l'Orphée de Cyril Auvity en tête de distribution, une pléiade de chanteurs pour la plupart issus du Jardin des Voix et de l'équipe artistique de l'intégrale des madrigaux de Monteverdi, ainsi qu'Alain Blanchot qui signe les costumes — la somptuosité de son travail pour 11 Sant'Alessio ou Rameau, maître à danser avait été unanimement saluée par la presse.

« Cette production est un Orfeo intime. Le décor relativement épuré permet de remettre l'oeuvre dans son contexte antique, et de placer la musique, et par le biais de la musique, le texte, au coeur du spectacle et de l'expérience du spectateur. C'est avec cette simplicité que l'on peut accomplir le principe qui régit toute l'oeuvre de Monteverdi, et qui prévoit que le texte doit guider l'harmonie. »
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Paul Agnew

Extrait des Madrigaux de Monteverdi par Paul Agnew et les Arts Florissants

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Orfeo

Opéra en 5 actes avec prologue. Livret d’Alessandro Striggio.
Créé au Palazzo Ducale de Mantoue le 24 février 1607

 

⇒ Les surtitres en anglais de cette production ont été réalisés grâce au parrainage de CAP MONDE, chaque année plus de 30 000 enfants et adolescents découvrent le monde avec Cap Monde.

 

*****

Coproduction : Les Arts Florissants, Le Théâtre de Caen, Philharmonie de Paris

Les Arts Florissants sont soutenus par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et le Département de la Vendée. Depuis 2015 ils sont accueillis en résidence à la Philharmonie de Paris. La Selz Foundation, American Friends of Les Arts Florissants et Crédit Agricole Corporate & Investment Bank sont Grands Mécènes.

Onglets

Distribution

Cyril Auvity Orfeo

Hannah Morrison Euridice / Musica

Paul Agnew Apollo

Miriam Allan Proserpine / Ninfa 

Lea Desandre Messaggeria / Speranza 

Carlo Vistoli Spirito infernale / Pastore

Sean Clayton Pastore

Zachary Wilder Spirito infernale / Pastore 

Antonio Abete Pluton / Spirito infernale / Pastore

Cyril Constanzo Caronto / Spirito infernale

 

Les Arts Florissants

Paul Agnew Direction musicale et mise en espace

 

Alain Blanchot Costumes

Christophe Naillet Décors et lumières

Commentaires

Ajouter un commentaire