Monteverdi: Duos héroïques

10 November 2017 - 8:30pm
DetailsBook
Approximate duration: 
2h with intermission

Among the wealth of invention in Monteverdi’s work, tenors find magnificent gems written for their voice. Christoph Prégardien, a “historical” tenor of the baroque movement and his son Julian, greatly in demand for this repertoire, are coming together to serve the best “bravura pieces” written by Monteverdi for their voice. From the illustrious Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda to the incarnation of Orfeo, Monterverdi’s finest pieces are intended for tenors.

 

Heartrending duets between Ulysses and his son Telemachus or between Orfeo and his father Apollo, truly apt repertoire for the Prégardiens father and son… The strength of this music is reinforced by the family links between the two singers and their deeply touching interpretation that has to be discovered by the public.

The dramatic intensity specific to Monteverdi, the richness of his instrumentation, the immediate impact of his melodies speak directly to our heart, the breathtaking virtuosity of some vocal parts make him a thoroughly modern composer, with strikingly beautiful expressions as in the poignant Lamenti.

For this tribute to Monteverdi, built around the father and son relationship, Jos van Immerseel who has been familiar with the master’s work for half-a-century conducts his ensemble Anima Eterna and the mezzo-soprano Marianne Beate Kielland, in the Hercule Salon, the most Italianate of the palace’s rooms, where Monteverdi will sound beautifully.

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
Tempro La Cetra
Interrotte Speranze
Lamento d’Arianna
Arias of Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria
Arias of L’Orfeo

 

Picto abonnement

 

  Discovery subscription

Onglets

Casting

Christoph & Julian Prégardien Tenors

Marianne Beate Kielland Mezzo-soprano

 

Ensemble instrumental Anima Eterna Brugge

Jos van Immerseel Conductor, harpsichord, organ

Commentaires

Add new comment

Monteverdi : Duos héroïques

10 novembre 2017 - 20h30
DétailsRéserver
Durée approximative: 
2h entracte inclus

Dans l'œuvre de Monteverdi, si riche en inventions de toutes sortes, les ténors trouvent des joyaux musicaux magnifiquement écrits pour leur voix. C'est ainsi que Christoph Prégardien, ténor "historique" du mouvement baroque, et son fils Julian, l'un des jeunes ténors les plus demandés pour ce répertoire, s'unissent pour servir les meilleurs "morceaux de bravoure" destinés par Monteverdi à la voix de ténor. Du fameux Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda à l'incarnation d'Orfeo, le ténor est la voix à laquelle Monteverdi destine ses plus savoureux moments.

 

Jusqu'aux duos déchirants entre Ulysse et son fils Télémaque,  ou entre Orphée et son père Apollon, deux ténors ici incarnés par Prégardien père et fils, justement... La force de ces musiques et celle des liens charnels qui unissent les deux chanteurs ne peuvent que donner une interprétation bouleversante, qu'il fallait absolument présenter au public en concert.

L'intensité dramatique propre à Monteverdi, la richesse de son instrumentation, l'impact immédiat de ses mélodies qui parlent au cœur, la virtuosité ébouriffante de certains passages vocaux, en font un compositeur d'une modernité absolue, toujours éblouissant dans sa faconde comme dans les si poignants Lamenti.

Pour cet hommage à Monteverdi rendu autour des liens de filiation, Jos van Immerseel qui fréquente l'œuvre du maître depuis un demi-siècle, dirige son ensemble Anima Eterna, ainsi que la mezzo-soprano Marianne Beate Kielland, dans la salle de palais si italienne du splendide Salon d'Hercule, où Monteverdi sonne si magnifiquement.

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643)
Il combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda
Tempro La Cetra
Interrotte Speranze
Lamento d’Arianna

Extraits de Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria
Extraits de L’Orfeo

Picto abonnement


Abonnement Découverte

 

Onglets

Distribution

Christoph & Julian Prégardien Ténors

Marianne Beate Kielland Mezzo-soprano

 

Ensemble instrumental Anima Eterna Brugge

Jos van Immerseel Direction, clavecin, orgue