Lully / Molière : Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

22 and 23 April 2017
Details
Approximate duration: 
1h45 without interval

On the occasion of the tercentenary of Louis XIV’s death, William Christie and Clément Hervieu Léger created a striking and farcical ballet-comedy: Monsieur de Pourceaugnac.

 

Created by Molière’s company “for the King’s entertainment” on 6th October 1669 in Chambord, this play in three acts revisits some of Molière’s classical themes: marriage, money, illness. 

Arrived from Limoges to marry young Julie, Pourceaugnac immediately becomes the victim of Sbrigani and Nérine, two schemers paid by the belle’s lover to prevent this pre-arranged marriage from taking place. Falling in turns prey to doctors, an apothecary, a woman from Picardie and another from Languedoc, Swiss guards, lawyers, an exempt, two archers, the unfortunate Pourceaugnac, as confused by the streets of Paris as by the state of his mind, finally has to flee the city disguised as a woman. 

Modeled as a simple comedy designed along Italian lines (Policinella pazzo per forza and Pulcinello burlato) with music and dance added, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac is undoubtedly one of Molière’s darkest and most cruel plays: an implacable descent into hell in three acts, leading Pourceaugnac to lose all notion of who he is. The feeling of inescapability of Pourceaugnac’s both tragic and grotesque end, contrasting with Eraste’s and Julie’s felicitous wedding, is considerably reinforced by the place Molière and Lully give to music. 

Unlike in other comedy-ballets, music in Monsieur de Pourceaugnac is not just an ornament; it is fully integrated into the play’s dramaturgy. The sung parts must be considered as scenes in themselves and not as mere “interludes” that could be omitted. Masked dancers whirl in carnival-like sarabandes until they lose their mind. For William Christie and Clément Hervieu-Léger, it is the interweaving of music and theatre that makes this work exceptionally interesting. Opera, then in its first days, would little by little place music before theatre, but here, Molière and Lully succeed in creating music from theatre. 

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
Molière (1622-1673)

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Comedy-Ballet in 3 acts by Molière. Music by Jean-Baptiste Lully
First performed at Château de Chambord on 6th October 1669

 

Production C.I.C.T. - Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord
Coproduction Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg ; Les Arts Florissants ; Théâtre de Caen ; Opéra Royal/Château de Versailles Spectacles ; CNCDC Châteauvallon ; Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne ; Compagnie des Petits Champs ; Cercle des Partenaires des Bouffes du Nord
Set construction: Les Ateliers des Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg
With the financial support of the Région Île-de-France
Supported by SPEDIDAM and with broadcasting support of Arcadi Île-de-France

 

Onglets

Casting

Clément Hervieu-Léger Director

William Christie Musical director and musical design

 

Aurélie Maestre Sets

Caroline de Vivaise Costumes

Bertrand Couderc Lights

Jean-Luc Ristord  Sound

Bruno Bouché Choreography

David Carvalho Nunes Makeup and hair

Paolo Zanzu Music assistant

Clémence Boué and Aurélie Maestre Assistant directors


With
 

Erwin Aros 2nd musician, the Egyptian man, counter-tenor

Clémence Boué Nérine

Cyril Costanzo apothicary, lawyer, archer, bass

Claire Debono  the Egyptian woman, soprano

Stéphane Facco doctor, Lucette, Swiss guard

Matthieu Lécroart 1st musician, doctor, lawyer, exempt, bass-baritone

Juliette Léger Julie

Gilles Privat Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Guillaume Ravoire Eraste, Swiss guard

Daniel San Pedro Sbrigani

Alain Trétout Oronte

 

And the Arts Florissants Musicians

William Christie Director and clavecin

Genre: 
Comic, Family

Commentaires

Add new comment

Lully / Molière : Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

22 et 23 avril 2017
DétailsRéserver
Durée approximative: 
1h45 sans entracte

Pour le tricentenaire Louis XIV, William Christie et Clément Hervieu-Léger ont monté une comédie-ballet percutante et drolatique : Monsieur de Pourceaugnac.

 

Créée par la troupe de Molière “pour le divertissement du Roi” le 6 octobre 1669 à Chambord, cette pièce en trois actes reprend quelques-uns des grands thèmes moliéresques : le mariage, l’argent, la maladie.

Arrivé de Limoges pour épouser la jeune Julie, Pourceaugnac est aussitôt la proie de Sbrigani et Nérine, gens d’intrigue payés par l’amant de la belle pour empêcher ce mariage arrangé. Livré tour à tour à des médecins, un apothicaire, une femme picarde, une autre languedocienne, des gardes suisses, des avocats, un exempt, deux archers, le provincial, perdu dans les rues de la capitale comme dans sa propre tête, n’aura finalement pas d’autre solution que de fuir Paris travesti en femme.

Sous la forme d’une simple comédie, inspirée de canevas italiens (Policinella pazzo per forza et Pulcinello burlato) et agrémentée de musique et de danse, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac est sans doute l’une des pièces les plus sombres et les plus cruelles que Molière ait écrites : trois actes d’une implacable descente aux enfers qui conduisent Pourceaugnac à ne plus savoir lui-même qui il est. Cette impression d’inéluctabilité de la fin à la fois tragique et grotesque du personnage de Pourceaugnac, que vient contrebalancer l’heureux mariage d’Eraste et de Julie, est considérablement accentuée par la place que Molière et Lully donnent ici à la musique.

Contrairement à d’autres comédies-ballets, la musique ne joue pas, dans Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, un simple rôle d’ornement, mais fait intrinsèquement partie de la dramaturgie de la pièce. Il faut ainsi considérer les moments chantés comme des scènes à part entière et non comme de simples “intermèdes” dont nous pourrions faire l’économie. On songe à ces sarabandes carnavalesques qui grisent les danseurs masqués d’un jour jusqu’à la folie. C’est cette imbrication entre la musique et le théâtre qui fait, pour William Christie et Clément Hervieu-Léger, l’intérêt singulier de cette œuvre. Tandis que l’opéra naissant va peu à peu faire primer la musique sur le théâtre, Molière et Lully réussissent dans cette œuvre cette incroyable gageure : faire de la musique du théâtre.

 

 

♦ PROGRAMME

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
Molière (1622-1673)

Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Comédie-Ballet de Molière en 3 actes. Musique de Jean-Baptiste Lully.
Créée au Château de Chambord le 6 Octobre 1669.

 

Production C.I.C.T. - Théâtre des Bouffes du Nord
Coproduction Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg ; Les Arts Florissants ; Théâtre de Caen ; Opéra Royal/Château de Versailles Spectacles ; Châteauvallon Scène Nationale; Théâtre Impérial de Compiègne ; Compagnie des Petits Champs ; Cercle des Partenaires des Bouffes du Nord
Construction décors Les Ateliers des Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg
Action financée par la Région Île-de-France
Avec le soutien de la SPEDIDAM et l’aide à la diffusion d’Arcadi Île-de-France

 

Onglets

Distribution

Clément Hervieu-Léger Mise en scène

William Christie Direction musicale et conception musicale du spectacle

 

Aurélie Maestre Décors

Caroline de Vivaise Costumes

Bertrand Couderc Lumières

Jean-Luc Ristord Son

Bruno Bouché Chorégraphie

David Carvalho Nunes Maquillages/coiffures

Paolo Zanzu Assistant musical

Clémence Boué et Aurélie Maestre Assistantes à la mise en scène

Avec

Erwin Aros 2nd musicien, l’égyptien, haute-contre

Clémence Boué Nérine

Cyril Costanzo apothicaire, avocat, archer, basse

Claire Debono  l’égyptienne, soprano

Stéphane Facco médecin, Lucette, suisse

Matthieu Lécroart 1er musicien, médecin, avocat, exempt, baryton-basse

Juliette Léger Julie

Gilles Privat Monsieur de Pourceaugnac

Guillaume Ravoire Eraste, suisse

Daniel San Pedro Sbrigani

Alain Trétout Oronte

 

Et les Musiciens des Arts Florissants

William Christie Direction et clavecin

Genre: 
Comique, Famille

Commentaires

Ajouter un commentaire