Hasse : Siroe

26, 28 and 30 november 2014
Details
Show surtitled
Durée: 
3h30 intermission included

Siroe, King of Persian by Johann Adolph Hasse, created in 1733 in Bologna, then performed in London, Naples and Dresden and never performed again since the 18th century will be re-created in Versailles; on this occasion a CD will be recorded and the Versailles performance at the Opéra Royal will be filmed for television.

 

After the success of Ataserse, Max Emmanuel Cencic wanted to work on one of the most famous baroque opera composers: Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783).This prolific composer (he composed more than 56 operas) had an international career which can be compared to Handel’s and was even more famous: he left Hamburg where he had started as an opera singer,  conquered Naples, Venice, London, but above all Vienna and Dresden, where he resided for 30 years (he was Kapellmeister from 1733 to 1763). His opera seria were performed all over Europe and became the “standard” from 1725 to 1765 for “classic” Italian opera, interpreted by the greatest singers of the time from Farinelli to Faustina Bordoni (whom he married).

 

The story of Siroe is typical of those of opera seria, with multiple love plots on a historical background: in 628, the bellicose King of Persia Cosroe (Khosrau II), at war for years against the Christian Emperor Heraclius, from whom he conquered Egypt, Syria and Palestine, decided not to let his son Siroe inherit. Siroe revolted against this injustice and had his father killed. He then became Kind of Persia in 628. He immediately wrote to Heraclius to ask for peace, restoring splendor and serenity to Central Asia. This authentic historical rivalry was used by Hasse as a background for multiple virtuoso arias by all soloists. The opera met with extraordinary success and was performed in London when Hasse visited the city, which was trying to attract him to compete with Handel. However, Hasse was expected at the magnificent Court of Saxony in Dresden, which was to mark the high point of his career.

 

To revive Hasse’s masterpiece, Max Emanuel Cencic is surrounded with brilliant singers, among whom the star soprano Julia Lezhnevva, with the excellent Armonia Atenea conducted by the energetic George Petrou, whose recent successes in the Handel repertoire have been applauded all over Europe. Because this opera is very close to his heart, Cencic directs the staging of this opera himself

A masterpiece rediscovered!

 

 

Extract - Siroe - 2014

 

PROGRAMME 

Premiere in France / New production

 

Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783)

Siroé, Rè di Persia

Opera seria in three acts. Libretto by Metastasio

First performance at Teatro Mavezzi in Bologna on 2 May 1733

 

 

 

Discover some pictures of the show !

Pictures

 

 

 

Production : Parnassus Arts Productions
Coproduction : Royal Opera / Château de Versailles Spectacles - Athens Festival

Onglets

Casting

Max Emanuel Cencic, Siroe

Julia Lezhneva, Loadice 

Mary-Ellen Nesi, Medarse 

Juan Sancho, Cosroe 

Laureen Snouffer, Arasse  

Dilyara Idrisova, Emira 

 

Max Emanuel Cencic, director

Bruno de Lavenère, sets

David Debrinay, lights

Etienne Guiol, video

 

Armonia Atenea

George Petrou, conductor

Commentaires

Add new comment

Hasse : Siroe

26, 28 et 30 novembre 2014
Détails
Spectacle surtitré
Durée approximative: 
3h30 entracte inclus

L’Opéra Siroé , Roi de Perse de Johann Adolph Hasse, créé en 1733 à Bologne, puis présenté à Londres, Naples et Dresde, jamais rejoué depuis le XVIIIe siècle, fera l’objet d’une reprise à Versailles, de la sortie d’un enregistrement CD, et d’une captation télévisée à l’Opéra Royal de Versailles.

 

Après le succès d’Artaserse, Max Emanuel Cencic voulait s’attaquer à l’un des plus fameux compositeurs baroques d’opéra : Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783). Ce compositeur prolifique (plus de 56 opéras) eut une carrière internationale digne de celle de Haendel, avec une renommée plus grande encore : parti de Hambourg où il avait fait ses premières armes de chanteur d’opéra, il conquit Naples, Venise, Londres, mais surtout Vienne, et Dresde où il se fixa durant 30 ans (il fut Maître de Chapelle de 1733 à 1763). Joués dans toute l’Europe, ses opera seria furent la “norme” dans les années 1725-1765 pour l’opéra italien “classique”, interprétés par les plus grands chanteurs, de Farinelli à Faustina Bordoni (qu’il épousa).

L’histoire de Siroé est typique de celles qui font briller un opera seria, mélange de contexte historique et d’intrigues amoureuses croisées : en 628, le belliqueux Roi des Perses Cosroé (Chosroès II), en guerre avec l’Empereur Chrétien Héraclius depuis des années, et lui ayant conquis l’Egypte, la Syrie et la Palestine, décida de ne pas donner sa succession à son fils Siroé. Celui-ci se révolta devant cette injustice et fit tuer son père. Siroé devint ainsi Roi des Perses en 628. Il écrivit aussitôt à Héraclius pour demander la paix, redonnant à l’Asie Centrale une période de splendeur et de sérénité. C’est cette réelle rivalité historique qui sert de trame à Hasse pour faire assaut de virtuosité entre les solistes. L’opéra eut un succès extraordinaire, et Londres le reprit au moment du voyage de Hasse dans cette ville, où l’on essayait de l’implanter pour faire concurrence à Haendel. Hasse cependant était attendu à la splendide Cour de Saxe, à Dresde, qui devait marquer sa carrière.

Pour restituer ce chef-d’œuvre de Hasse, Max Emanuel Cencic s’entoure de chanteurs brillants dont la jeune soprano star Julia Lezhneva, donne la conduite de l’excellent orchestre Armonia Atenea à George Petrou, chef plein de fougue dont les succès dans le répertoire haendélien sont salués partout en Europe, et réalise par lui-même la mise en scène de cet opéra qui lui tient plus que tout à cœur.

Attention, redécouverte magistrale !

 

Extrait des répétitions - Siroé - 2014

 

PROGRAMME 

Première en France / Nouvelle production

 

Johann Adolph Hasse (1699-1783)

Siroé, Rè di Persia

Opera seria en trois actes. Livret de Métastase.

Créé au Teatro Mavezzi à Bologne, le 2 mai 1733.

 

 

 

Découvrez quelques photos du spectacle !

Photos

 

 

 

Production : Parnassus Arts Productions
Coproduction : Opéra Royal / Château de Versailles Spectacles - Athens Festival

Onglets

Distribution

Max Emanuel Cencic, Siroé

Julia Lezhneva, Loadice 

Mary-Ellen Nesi, Medarse 

Juan Sancho, Cosroe 

Laureen Snouffer, Arasse  

Dilyara Idrisova, Emira 

 

Max Emanuel Cencic, mise en scène

Bruno de Lavenère, décors 

David Debrinay, lumières

Etienne Guiol, vidéo

 

Armonia Atenea

George Petrou, direction

Commentaires

Ajouter un commentaire